Build Advice I'm a first-time builder looking for some help ?

Oct 10, 2023
Budget: Roughly $2,000 - without graphics card (see below).

Goals:

1. Speed - especially when multitasking. Normally, I neither game nor edit videos. But, I do work on the computer alot. I open up many, many tabs of all kinds - including long videos - and I have multiple programs running. I want the computer to be able to handle this sort of activity as fast as possible, without hesitating or flinching.

2. Longevity. I want the new computer to last for as long as possible without really needing an upgrade/fix.

3. Silence. within reason.

4. RGB is not desired. But, some is okay.

5. I plan on getting a decent OLED monitor. But, I have to save up some money for that. For now, I'm going to use an older monitor.

6. I really want to make sure that I get my moneys worth; if I'm going to spend $2,000, then I want the best possible computer for $2,000 that will suit my purposes.

Parts list:

Processor: either
  • Intel Core i9-13900K or
  • Intel Core i7-13700k
Cooler: Maybe

• Corsair iCUE H150i Elite Capellix XT three fan model
  • But, I don't know if I need something more powerful, such as an Asus Ryujin III.
Motherboard: This is a really hard one for me to figure out. Maybe:

• Gigabyte Z790 Aorus Elite AX.
Memory: aiming for 64GB (2x32). Not sure if Corsair or G.Skill is better here. So,

• Corsair Vengeance (2x32) DDR5-6000 CL30 or
  • G.Skill Trident Z5 (2x32) DDR5 6000 CL30 or
  • the neo version.
Storage: Aiming for 2TB for now. Maybe

• Samsung 990 2TB, although I've read that there has been some problems with it.
* Video card:

• AMD 100-438373 Radeon Rx 6900 XT 16GB (I'm getting this from a friend who is upgrading his pc) If this ends up being a problem, I plan on replacing it at some point.
Case:

• Corsair 4000D
Power supply: No idea what I need.

• Corsair RM1000x 80+ gold (2021) or
  • the EVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G6, 80+ Gold or
  • Corsair HX1000i 80+ Platinum.
Case fans: