setter43

Prominent
Jun 6, 2020
Hello there,

I have some basic PC knowledge from a previous build. But when it comes down to GPU's I often find I mistakenly overlook factors/performance here and there.

My current build was a few new pieces and parts salvaged from my previous tower. Here is my Current Build more or less.

https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/bYYV9G

I will look to upgrade the monitor as well.

I used my PC for my Computer Science (CS) Degree and a lot of gaming. I don't play a lot of the latest biggest titles. Mostly Rainbow Six Siege, Tarkov etc. It only got me thinking about upgrading after I started my hobby of Game Dev using Unity, Unreal and 3Ds Max / Blender. Due to multiple lockdowns and recently graduating I have found myself playing other titles such as Days Gone and Death stranding, which are very demanding on my current GPU GTX 1060 6GB. I am now in a position where I can upgrade and thinking about whether it is worth it. If I play a high detailed game (Days Gone) or work in UE4 on big projects, I will max out my GPU to 100%. Is now the time to upgrade if possible?

I have some money saved up from working part-time, I've been looking at the 3080's but can't tell which would be the GPU for me. Not only to let me play these latest games but also to continue working on my hobby of Game Dev.

This is what I find myself looking at

https://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/search-keywords/xx_xx_xx_xx_xx/3080/xx-criteria.html

I opted for the 3 fan addition since my current GPU runs at 68-74 celsius when playingDays Gone and over 6GB since that is what my current GPU offers.

My thoughts.
I can't tell what would be right for me in my situation. Is this overkill or future-proofing? Is now the time to upgrade?
The last time I looked at GPU's, it was all about which brand, series and how much memory it had behind it. Now there is all this about RTX and Cuda Cores and so much more.
Is the 3080 right for me?