Question I'm thinking of switching from windows to macbook, is it worth it ?

Lukasamba

Reputable
Oct 26, 2015
Hello, i'm student right now, i'm studying software engineering (programming/coding) at university, i have a 2 years old gaming laptop, lenovo legion y520, it has i5-7300hq, gtx 1060 6gb, 8gb ddr4, 128gb ssd + 2tb hdd. I am thinking of selling this laptop and buying apple laptop, just don't know is it worth it or not. First of all, at first when i bought this laptop, i have been gaming a lot, but recently i bought ps4 pro and i only use this laptop for coding/studies/browsing/some business (i'm selling stuff). Rarely i play rocket league or world of tanks on this laptop and that's it, everything else i play on console. My laptop's battery lasts like 2/3 hours at best when in battery saver mode, so battery is one of the most important things for me. I saw that macbook's lasts like ~10 hours, that's what i need. Other thing, i have iphone x, i like how well it runs, it has no lags at all (very rarely cases it crashes or freezes), i heard that macbooks are optimized as well, so another point. Another thing, my laptop gets hot fast and it is not lightweight, i heard (if it's true) that macbooks are lightweight and doesn't get hot most of the time. For studies, i use ms visual studio, visual studio code, intelliJ... Are macbooks suitable for coding ? And what about macbook air ? Those laptops have only 2 cores cpu... Does it lag ? Is it fast or is slow ? Is macbook pro worth over macbook air ?
And in the end, if i sold this laptop and bought macbook air 2019, would i be happy or disappointed for trading power for battery/ease of use ?
Please share your thoughts.

DSzymborski

Titan
It only really makes sense if there's software on the Mac that's a "must have" option for you. Otherwise, a Mac at the same price of a PC will almost always be far less powerful, well past the level of being able to feel the difference.

Lukasamba

Reputable
Oct 26, 2015