INQ: AMD releases more (Bull****) Barcelona "benches"

JPack

Distinguished
Feb 21, 2006
I love how they claim "It will blow away Clovertown," but then don't reveal any frequencies or compare it against Clovertown.

:lol:

turpit

Splendid
Feb 12, 2006
Not being a POV expert, I can't say how it scales, or really relate this to much. As an exercise for our readership, can someone work this backwards and tell me about what the clocks here are?

I ran this through the Alta Vista BabelFish translator, set to translate BullShitt to english. This is what it gave back:

Not having a clue how computers or benchmarks work, I can't say what this means or how it relates to anything. As Im too lazy, could one of the 18 people who read my blog figure this out for me?

WR

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2006
Task manager shows 8 cores on the left, 16 cores on the right. The rendered scene looks like the standard POVray benchmark which has predefined default settings.

If what Charlie says is true, 8 Opteron cores hit 2200 px/s and 16 Barcelona cores hit >4000 px/s. Both are 4-socket configurations, so the Opteron clocks are probably higher.

For reference, a single Merom core at 3.0 GHz using one channel of DDR2 hits about 520 px/s, but scaling is not quite linear, not to mention (1) Clovertown uses slower FB-DIMMs and (2) a 4S configuration for Clovertown may require separate nodes and thus utilize NUMA with further potential slowdown.

Edit: According to this link - http://www.realworldtech.com/page.cfm?ArticleID=RWT111406114244&p=2 - Clovertown exhibits nearly linear scaling in a 2S SMP configuration. With just 8 cores at 2.33GHz it nearly reaches the claimed benchmark readout from 16 Barcelona cores, clock unspecified. That makes AMD's bench very unimpressive.

shargrath

Distinguished
May 13, 2007