Question Insane Packet Loss/Jitter

iiSlashr

Reputable
Mar 10, 2019
I've been using the same setup for a couple years with the exception of a few upgrades here and there to my CPU and such, and had no issues with packet loss or jitter at all. Starting 2 days ago, my internet suddenly has up to 90% packet loss and up to about 500ms jitter with ping spikes up to the thousands. I am on ethernet with my router and my modem literally about 1 foot from my PC. I am using the built-in ethernet controller on my MSI B450-A motherboard, with a Ryzen 5 5600X, a 3060Ti FE, 32 gigs of Vengeance LPX at 3000MHz, and a Linksys EA6350 router. I have tried restarting both the router and modem, my PC, unplugging/replugging all of the ethernet cables, and nothing has worked so far. Should I buy a new router or a network card to try and fix this or is there something I can do to actually pinpoint the issue?

iiSlashr

Reputable
Mar 10, 2019
Update, I have tried using PingPlotter, which shows packet loss of around 30% after a hundred or so pings to any address on most of the hops. My router's IP as well as localhost both had no packet loss whatsoever. I also tried using ping -t on 1.1.1.1, 8.8.8.8, and my router, and the former 2 timed out about a third of the time, presumably due to packet loss. I also tried swapping out each individual ethernet cable between my router and modem and then between my router and PC with a different one, to no avail.

Although you have to be careful about ping plotter results what you are saying is you see no loss to the first hop but then you see loss to the second hop and every hop past there including the end node.

That would indicate there is something wrong with the internet connection coming to your house. It is almost always some kind of wiring issue but most times it is outside your house.