Question Installed Ubuntu - now Windows not booting and partitions not accessible

Mar 28, 2020
Hello,

This is my first time posting here, so hopefully this is the right place to ask...

I have an HP Probook 450 G1 laptop with one HDD. I had Windows 10 installed. I wanted to be able to have a dual boot of Windows and Linux, so I created some partitions (100 GB for Linux, a 256 MB boot partition, and a 2GB swap partition) and installed Ubuntu 18. I remember being able to view my Windows partition and see the files on it. I then let Ubuntu update and assumed everything was fine. I don't have a recovery CD, but I do have the original Windows 7 installation CD that my computer came with.

I'm now seeing that:
  • There is not option to boot to Windows either from BIOS menu or from GRUB menu
  • I can see partitions in GParted, but I can't mount or modify any of the non-Linux partitions (/dev/sda1, sda2, sda3). I do see an option to format the Windows partition.
  • I can't access the Windows partition from Files explorer
  • I am not able to resize the Linux partition to take include the space that's labelled as "unallocated"
This is what I see in GParted (I'm having trouble posting image links):

| Partition____| File System__|_Mount Point_|_Label_____| Size_|_Used_|_Unused_|_Flags
| /dev/sda1___|_ntfs__________|________________|SYSTEM__|______|________|___________|______
| /dev/sda2___|_ntfs__________|________________|Windows_|______|________|___________|______
| /dev/sda4 ___|_extended____|_______________|____________|______|________|___________|______
| /dev/sda5__|_linux-swap___|_______________|____________|______|________|___________|______
| /dev/sda6__|_fat32_________|_______________|____________|______|________|___________|esp___
| /dev/sda7__|_ext4__________| /______________|____________|______|________|___________|______
| unallocated_|_|unallocated |_______________|_____________|______|________|___________|______