Installing a Duorb, ati hd4850 won't come out? [card out, new problem]

edd722

Distinguished
Sep 3, 2008
Ok first time I'm taking out a mobo, (I'm taking it off because the gpu (hd4850), somehow became stuck below the mobo?, I don't know it just won't come out), so I need tips and recommendations, can I use latex gloves instead of antistatic bands?, what shyould I NOT touch, etc, I hope this goes smoothly..., btw I'm not talking about the card being stuck in the pci-express slot, it's the little metal plate where you conect your monitor that just won't come out, oh and I need tips on how to apply the thermal paste, as I said it's my first time :cry:

V3NOM

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2008
um, have you ever built a computer before? it sounds like you don't know a thing. Before you ask here, google is your friend by the way. i think the metal plate you are referring to is the expansion slot... it should have a screw on the inside of the case. touch the power supply housing before touching any other components to get rid of static.

edd722

Distinguished
Sep 3, 2008
it has an screw, i took it out, the screw is out, the card is out of the pci-express slot, is there another screw?, and yes I'm talking about the expansion slot, touching the power slupply housing? ok, but wouldn't latex gloves be better?

V3NOM

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2008
just touch the psu and you won't get any static. gloves are useless. theres a ltitle tab on the end of the pci express slot (ie underneath the gfx card). did you build this computer in the first place or what?

edd722

Distinguished
Sep 3, 2008
I didn't it was built in a store, and I know about the tab in the pci-slot, it was OUT of it, the part of the card that won't wcome out is the expansion slot part.

Huh?!?!?!?