Question Installing GTX 1080ti, replacing gtx 1060, Why does it crash now???

Jun 14, 2019
Hey guys, im pretty new to all this and learning a lot lately. I just acquired a 1080 ti FE for a smoking deal but im nervous to install it. Can any of you guys provide any tips or instructions above nvidias?
The little booklet says insert gpu into pcie slot and thats basically it. What about drivers? are there other things that need to be adjusted??
PLEASE Help lol

Both the cards are NVIDIA, so why the confusion. Just remove the 1060, and replace it with the GTX 1080 Ti, assuming you have a compatible PSU as well. There won't be any need to mess with the GPU drivers, but for better stability, use the DDU tool to do a CLEAN re-install and update of the GPU drivers.

Jun 14, 2019
Both the cards are NVIDIA, so why the confusion. Just remove the 1060, and replace it with the GTX 1080 Ti, assuming you have a compatible PSU as well. There won't be any need to mess with the GPU drivers, but for better stability, use the DDU tool to do a CLEAN re-install and update of the GPU drivers.

I have no clue what the DDU Tool is... and my confusion is simply not understanding all this stuff completely. I have a brand new Corsair CX750M PSU. It says that is sufficient on part picker??

I have no clue what the DDU Tool is... and my confusion is simply not understanding all this stuff completely. I have a brand new Corsair CX750M PSU. It says that is sufficient on part picker??
Okay. No worries. Display Driver Uninstaller is a driver removal utility that can help you completely uninstall AMD/NVIDIA graphics card drivers and packages from your system, without leaving leftovers behind (including registry keys, folders and files, driver store). Check the following link. And yes, that PSU is sufficient for the GTX 1080 Ti.

https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/display-driver-uninstaller-download.html

Jun 14, 2019