Intel core i3 540 temps: why are core temps reaching 100C with cpu @ 40C?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jul 19, 2018
I'm slowly renovating a pc from 2010. It's a learning experience before I build a more permanent machine. Things are running smoothly, except the core temps on the intel i3-540 processor. I understand from the sticky on intel temps that the cores should run about 5C higher than the CPU, but while my CPU stays cool, lower than 60C at all times, core temps quickly jump to 100-105C under load, at which point I believe they throttle.

So why is this happening? The cpu is adequately cooled by the stock fan, which means that the thermal paste (recently applied arctic silver) is working as intended, right? Is this an issue with the TIM, and should I delid?

This is my first time posting. I can provide more information if it is required.

Thanks!!

Build:
core i3-540(https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115221)
dh55hc mobo(https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813121396)
650W PSU 80+ Bronze(https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817171052)
gtx 680 GPU(https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIADRA5TX0702&cm_re=gtx_680-_-9SIADRA5TX0702-_-Product)
DDR3 4GB PC1333MHz DUAL (2X2GB) 1333MHz CAS 9

Solution
jcdaisley,

On behalf of Tom's Moderator Team, welcome aboard!

I wrote the Intel CPU Temperature Guide to help users understand a complicated topic that's distorted by a great deal of misinformation, and poorly understood by most users. Don't feel like you're the only one. The Guide is not a document to be quickly skimmed over, but should instead be read very carefully with deliberation. Many users don't get it on the first read. With respect, you apparently didn't read it closely enough. Here's some points you missed: