News Intel Core i7-13700K Review: Core i9 Gaming at i7 Pricing

PiranhaTech

Reputable
Mar 20, 2021
Still having a hard time convincing myself an i7-13700K is worth it over a i5-13600K. The 13600K is amazing for an i5.... at both games and productivity. The non-K i7s might be interesting though.
Honestly it depends on how much $90-140 is worth to you. For some people, especially tech workers, $100 might not be that high of a premium, and it wouldn't take $100 away from the likes of a better GPU. In another case, their time is to where it might be worth paying $100 more to delay upgrading by at least 1-3 years.

For a gamer though, i7 vs i9 would be a harder question.

For others, $100 is huge.

PiranhaTech

Reputable
Mar 20, 2021
I'm an engineer that uses 3D CAD, rendering and I do some programming too. I also rip my blu-ray UHD collection and sometimes reencode them. I'm a better target audience for the i7 than most and the extra 20% in performance doesn't seem that useful... especially with the huge increase in power and cooling requirements. i5K is the sweet spot right now.
Good point. I'm not used to the TDPs being so ridiculous lately

Udyr

Honorable
Mar 3, 2021

PlaneInTheSky

Commendable
BANNED
Oct 3, 2022
I was considering this CPU or the 13600, but then I noticed the local price in my country, and I was taken back a bit. The strong $ makes US imports very expensive. Same thing with the iPhone, the US $ price looks ok, then I look at the actual local price I would be paying, and I realise it's become unaffordable.

Samlebon2306

Prominent
Oct 27, 2022
How could Tom's Hardware not verify the prices?

Well, according to Newegg's ratings,the 7000 chips are selling better than the 13th series; even though they require a complete platform upgrade.