Intel Core i7 8700k or Ryzen 7 2700X?

NovaTronMC

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2014
I am upgrading a system that is about 4 intel generations old. But checking the new releases of the new AMD Processors, i've been doubting a lot. I use my system for heavy gaming (Witcher 3, Destiny 2, Battlefield 1/4, Fortnite and new comming games), as well as some light video editing and some heavy 3D rendering as I'm an architecture student. So I wanted to know, which CPU fits best my needs? I want a future proof system that might last for atleast 3-4 years. I am currently on a 970 but waiting for new nvidia gpus to release, so ill be pairing the to be chosen cpu with the --80 GPU of the new architecture. Also, for the i7 I want the Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5, hands down, love the RGB, just beautiful, but what's the equivalent for the X470 chipset? Please suggest me mobos with beautiful RGB and dark themed PCB, my budget for the MoBo goes up to 200-225 dollars. Thanks!.

NovaTronMC

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2014

True, the i7 will perform faster on games, while the Ryzen destroys the i7 on content creation, which is basically my work. The thing is that im afraid of getting the i7 because I feel that I will need that 2-core power for my work, but also I feel that I will miss those fps for gaming, which in some ocasions even go down by 40 fps.

maxalge

Champion
Ambassador

its worse than that

in gaming terms the i5 8400 is 7 - 9 fps faster

the i7 8700k is a whole higher tier specifically for gaming, especially at 5ghz
the ryzen is already struggling to reach ~60 - ~90 fps in a lot of games - even worse with pre-release stuff that is popular -

At 5ghz the i7 does not loose many benchmarks at work related tasks either, I strongly suggest you go look into benchmarks on specific software

NovaTronMC

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2014

Probably not, only if it goes lower than 60 fps, I doubt it will with a GTX 1080.