News Intel Fails to Reverse $2.18 Billion Patent Infringement Verdict

ConfusedCounsel

Prominent
Jun 10, 2021
This demonstrates patents do have real value. If any one is curious about the US patent system, and how it operates, as a patent attorney, I would be happy to explain the process, the rights secured, and what type of things can be patented. Yes, software can be patented. Please note, I will not provide opinions or legal advice, but just answer general questions to provide a better understanding of the US patent system.

May 21, 2021
Hi confused counsel,

In generic terms, exactly how different do 2 separate patented micro-architecture features that tackle the same problem need to be for it not to be patent infringement?

thanks!

This demonstrates patents do have real value. If any one is curious about the US patent system, and how it operates, as a patent attorney, I would be happy to explain the process, the rights secured, and what type of things can be patented. Yes, software can be patented. Please note, I will not provide opinions or legal advice, but just answer general questions to provide a better understanding of the US patent system.

Soaptrail

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2015
At least it was patent infringement. Had Intel download movies or music illegally the penalties would have been higher and included a jail term. But when it is business no need to jail anyone.

Axell

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2007
At least it was patent infringement. Had Intel download movies or music illegally the penalties would have been higher and included a jail term. But when it is business no need to jail anyone.

Intel, as a company, can't "download movies or music illegally".
And as such, they can't send the company to jail(that's not even logical). They can, and should, send the invidivuals from the company who did the illegal activities to jail.
I fail to understand how a company would be able to download movies or music illegally in fact.

husker

Distinguished