Intel i9-9900k/amd ryzen 2700x and mobo with ram sticks

Oct 15, 2018
Hey guys,

So I am new here and this is actually my first post. So I want to lay down a little history about me, I have been building and overclocking PCs for about 5 or 6 years now and have been an enthusiast about it for even longer, I've built computers for my friends but mainly have worked on my own rig and upgrading and overclocking it. So at first I started out with a sabertooth 990fx gen3 r2 mobo with an fx 6300, 1600 ddr3 ram, an r9 290x and a 1tb velociraptor that has since gone bad, also a few other things as well that aren't worth mentioning. Well since I have upgraded to an fx 8350, a gtx 1080, 1866 ddr3 ram and a case with a 380mm closed loop cooling system for my processor. I've also managed to overclock my fx8350 to be permanently stable at 4.6 Ghz but since have gotten scared and bumped it down to 4.4 cause I thought it was starting to go bad. Lol. So I am getting to the point where I need to upgrade/get a new mobo, processor, and with that ram. Btw I also run an ssd Samsung evo 860 ever since my velociraptor went bad. So anyways. I basically have 2 choices for upgrading and wondering which one you guys think would be the best option for me.

So my first, budget friendly option :) was the amd ryzen 2nd gen 2700x paired with an x470 asus ROG crosshair VII Hero mobo with 3466 ddr4 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX sticks. I've done some research on this and know that everything is compatible and supported by each other ie the mobo and ram.