Intel is Stepping on the Gas for Atom CPU Plans

Status
Not open for further replies.

scuba dave

Distinguished
Jun 1, 2009
3 years from 32nm to 14nm? I don't know if I'd trust Intel's atom's if they are gonna upgrade that fast.. Especially when they mess up their 2 year cycle so often, seemly. :/

burnley14

Distinguished
Apr 1, 2009
[citation][nom]GeekApproved[/nom]Cedar Trail will be outclassed by AMD, just like Atom is now.[/citation]
Which is why AMD has sold far more units than the 100 million Intel just celebrated, right? Right?

zooted

Distinguished
Feb 17, 2010
[citation][nom]burnley14[/nom]Which is why AMD has sold far more units than the 100 million Intel just celebrated, right? Right?[/citation]
He said outclassed, meaning it will remain the superior of the two, not the better selling.

enewmen

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2005
I'm not a hardware engineer, but by rushing through 32-22-14nm seems like a VERY difficult way to make a chip efficient and perform well!
Just seems much easier to underclock/fewer cores/less cache an Ivy Bridge/Haswell or make a very different architecture more like the ARM. Is the x86 so inherently inefficient (or not well suited for small devices)? I'm Missing something basic?
Yes, I also think the Cedar Trail is only a modest improvement over the Pineview and will get spanked just as easily.

G

> intel haz no good GPU!!!

Could you name any tasks other than gaming that require a 'good GPU' on an Atom system? And gaming is much less important than children think.

Kryan

Distinguished
Oct 23, 2008
[citation][nom]zooted[/nom]He said outclassed, meaning it will remain the superior of the two, not the better selling.[/citation]
Toyota sell more cars than BMW and Mercedes together...does that mean Toyota's cars are better than ze German's vehicles? I think not.

(that was me agreeing with zooted btw)

robisinho

Distinguished
Oct 23, 2010