Intel overclocking guide help

Jul 2, 2018
Can someone explain to me step by step how to overclock my CPU? Here are the relevent specs of my build:

I7-6700k
Corsair H115i cooler
Asus maximus 8 hero alpha motherboard

I am a utter and complete noob to overclocking even though my pc is custom. For a while i used an auto tuner but i reset it to stock over fear of overvolting, Please explain any terminology used. For a while my stock clock speed was fine until i decided to get into emulation. If yoiu need any other specs just ask.

Solution
You may use Prim95 for stressing your CPU and testing stability. Important: Keep CPU core temps und VCore under control!
The advice to start OC with 4,6Ghz I do not support at all. Try to run 4,2Ghz stable at the beginning with the ambition to achieve 4,5Ghz. Usually all - even the lower quality i7 - can go that far. Achieving more might then be possible, but bare in mind that there is never a guarantee for high OCs as every CPU has its unique OC potential.

parani

Honorable
Jun 15, 2015
Go to bios and go to advanced OC settings . Set the clock speed by entering it in clock speed tab . I guess Asus Mobo needs the value to be entered . Try from 4.6 ghz and see if it's stable. They increase it to 4.7 and 4.8 and check for stability. If it's stable at a certain clock speed, say 4.8ghz , they go to vcore voltage tab under advanced OC settings .Then set the voltage to manual and reduce the voltage by 0.2v . If it's 1.36v , they reduce it by 1.34 , 1.32, ...so on and check for stability . If you find the lowest stable voltage that run 4.8ggz , like 1.28v , then save those settings.

Jul 2, 2018

Can you define checking for stability? and dont you have to increase the voltage along with the clock speed or is it automatic in the bios?

parani

Honorable
Jun 15, 2015