Intel vs AMD - help me decide

MegaHavok

Honorable
Oct 8, 2013
Hey there folks,

I am looking to upgrade for when bf4 hits the uk (obviously going to wait for the benchmarks). But a little pre-planning cant do anyone harm. I am a noob when it comes to assembly and so have identified two systems which are very cost effective (being only £20 more than the individual components themselves!!). So here they are:

1) AMD build:

Motherboard: GA-990XA-UD3
CPU: FX-8350 @4.0 (would overclock to 4.5 ghz)
Cooler: Xigmatek darkknight nighthawk sd1283
GPU: R9-280X
PSU: Corsair 650W TX modular
Case: Zalman z11+
Storage: 1tb

Price: £850

2) Intel build:

Motherboard: GA-Z87-HD3
CPU: i5-4670k @4.4 ghz
Cooler: H80i
GPU: GTX 760
PSU: Corsair CX 600w
Case: Zalman z11+
Storage: 1 tb + 128gb ssd

price: £850

I am planning to be playing msotly bf4 which is said to be optimized for amd with the december mantel patch? However the superior processor in the intel build would maybe improve fps in large multiplayer maps?

What do you think?

MegaHavok

Honorable
Oct 8, 2013

indeed i did, things changing all the time. I am eagerly awaiting the bf4 benchmarks. How much of a step-up is the r9-280x from the gtx 760?

I think I would meld the two builds.

The cores on the 4670K are stronger. I am dubious that one would need 8 cores to play any game well. Game developers would not sell many.
In BF3 single player, the graphics card is important; in multiplayer, the cpu becomes more important.

The R9-280X is competitive in performance with the GTX770. With the new price drop, they are competitive in price too.
Take your pick.

Please do yourself a favor and use a 120gb ssd for the os and a few games.
With 240gb, defer on the hard drive. you may never need one at all.
Look at Samsung evo.

Stick with the Xigmatek air cooler.
I do not much like all in one liquid coolers when a good air cooler can do the job.
A liquid cooler will be expensive, noisy, less reliable, and will not cool any better