Intel Xeon based system build for rendering in Maya!

killswitch-core

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2007
I am a 3D character modeler, and I use Maya+Vray, Keyshot, and Modo which uses CPU extensively for rendering. The system will not operate 24/7 though. My budget for this build is $2000-2500 give or take. I will reuse my existing hardware from my current system so all I need within the budget are the following items:

Processors: 2x Intel Xeon 2630 V3
Cooler: 2x Corsair h80i GT
RAM: ?
Mainboard: ?
PSU: ?
Casing: ?

Here's the PCPartPicker link: http://pcpartpicker.com/user/killswitch/saved/#view=KyBcCJ

I am having a hard time picking the right PSU, case, and the mainboard. Are mounting points for server boards different from desktop counterparts? I was hoping to reuse my existing ATX case from CoolerMaster, Exactly which board from Intel or Supermicro should I be looking at. I have almost always used Asus boards, and I am not familiar with Supermicro, but I hear good stuff regarding their boards.

Solution

kanewolf

Titan
To get 12 - 16 physical cores, you have to go to the E5-2xxx Xeons. A pair of E5-2630 v2 (6 core 2.4Ghz list price $615) would probably be the best price/performance. For OPTIMUM performance you want 8 identical DIMMs since these CPUs are quad channel and you want to populate both sockets. You will probably have to get ECC RAM.

killswitch-core

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2007
If I were to populate all 8 memory slots, then I wonder if I should for for 32GB instead. Me thinks 32GB is a bit of an overkill for rendering 3D modeling reels, no? Anyone who has better idea if more RAM will help directly or indirectly with rendering (both batch render, and real-time), please shed some light. I am not too sure about this so.