Interested in liquid cooling, but not sure what route to take for my HOT HOT CPU while gaming

yoki_ikoy

Prominent
Jul 4, 2017
First of all, thank you for taking the time to read this, and even more thanks for any advice you can offer me. Forgive me if I come across like I don't really know what I'm talking about. I actually am quite confused about how to even go about this.

I admittedly cheaped out when it came to picking out a case when I first started putting my PC together. The goal was to build a decent gaming rig. I chose the CORSAIR CARBIDE SPEC-02 Mid-Tower Gaming Case, which only has a the capacity for 120mm liquid cooling radiator (I just checked their website to find that out). Oh, and please forgive me if I'm using any terminology incorrectly. I am still a bit of a newbie in several ways! So, I really just thought a case is a case, so I went cheap! I put together quite a decent system, which includes an Intel i7 8700k CPU -- and that thing runs HOT when I'm playing various game titles. I also knew better than to go with the stock cooler, however I cheaped out again and went with 'upHere CPU Cooler with 4 Direct Contact Heatpipes', which I would assume would work perfectly fine if this wasn't a gaming computer. I've been feeling the heat sync while playing Kingdom Come: Deliverance for instance, and that thing gets HOT HOT HOT, so I'm thinking it just may not be enough for my CPU's cooling needs.