[SOLVED] Internal 4TB WD SATA Just Disappeared

Nov 3, 2021
Hi,

System specs:
Intel 9700K
ASUS Strix 2080Ti
2x16GB Corsair Veng 3000MHz DDR4
1xSamsung 970 Evo+ M.2 500GB (Windows 10)
1xSamsung 860 Evo SATA 500GB (Apps)
1xWD SATA HDD 1TB
1xWD SATA HDD 4TB (My Documents/vids/music/photos/ISOs)(the disk that has disappeared)
Corsair 850W PSU
3,000W UPS with dual surge protection

I have had some bad experiences with some Seagate drives in the past (3 of 'em dying out on me, one after the other) so I always have Intel's smart storage app running and I frequently check if there is any problem with my drives.

So, yesterday system had been running fine all day, the drive was fine too. I played some Rocket League (which stores it's config/replays on that drive) for a while and no problems at all. No warnings, no clickity sounds, no system slowdown, no crash or hanging, no BSOD, no errors, no telltale signs of any hardware problem. Everything running perfectly. So later I ran a new game (called DARQ) for the first time, that I recently installed from the Epic Store on the 860 Evo. Ran the game. It ran perfectly. Exited the game after a few levels and later clicked on a shortcut to a folder on the 4TB WD. Prompt says the location doesn't exist. I open "My Computer" and the drive had just disappeared!!!