[SOLVED] Internet speed limited to 100mbps

May 15, 2022
Hi, I have a internet subscription that offers up to 2gbps and yesterday for some random reasons I was running some speedtest. I noticed that on my windows10 desktop my connection is limited to 100 mbps. My motherbiard is MSI B85G43 which according to documentation can go up to 1000mbps.
I tried to understand why I went into my ethernet status and see speed: 100Mbps.
Into properties I tried to change in advanced settings the speed & duplex to 1.0Gbps duplex integral but it did not change anything.
I am connected using RJ45 cat5e I've tried with differents wires cat5e or cat6 did not fix.
I am not sure what else I can do... In wifi with laptop or mobile I go up to 500mbps.

Thanks for help

Solution
This almost always is a bad cable. I will assume your router has gigabit lan ports, almost all routers are but older ones and cheaper ones still have 10/100 lan ports.

First you need to leave it set to auto. If you set it to anything else you can confuse the router port which is almost always auto and can not be changed.

There is not much you can set or change. This speed negotiation is down by the hardware chips and drivers have almost no effect. I guess you could check you have the latest driver but the driver doesn't do anything with say checking the voltage levels it sees on certain pins.

This means it is either a bad cable, a bad port in the pc, a bad port in the router. Bad ports are very very rare and you can't...
This almost always is a bad cable. I will assume your router has gigabit lan ports, almost all routers are but older ones and cheaper ones still have 10/100 lan ports.

First you need to leave it set to auto. If you set it to anything else you can confuse the router port which is almost always auto and can not be changed.