Invest in PC or Keep Xbox One?

Nightwing449

Reputable
Mar 13, 2014
I have a Xbox One but with Watch Dogs and Dark Souls 2 coming to PC, I was wondering should I invest in buying/getting a PC. I was thinking about going to sell my Xbox One to get some extra money for building a PC. I have about $800 and I could get a little bit more from selling my console. If I was going to build a PC, Where would I start and what kind of parts should I buy? I am a complete noob when it comes to PC parts, Also is one more question Is it hard to build a PC and should I get someone to build it for me?

Thanks!

haha yeah by PC standards XBOX one is already out of date tech, you will see better support for games, better online play with your friends. but for solo gaming PC makes more sense, better deals on games too. easier to upgrade

bernardblack

Honorable
Aug 20, 2012

I'd just get games for the X1 right now, and monitor SteamOS/ Steam Machine, and then build/ buy one of those. They are essentially consoles that fit full size graphics cards in them and you can upgrade their CPU, RAM and HDD in addition...most of the vendors have a customize option where you can go bigger on specific components, but their base models are competitive with consoles, @ $500.00...and they are faster. For less than 800.00 you can probably customize one with more RAM, GPU or CPU. Give it until summer or later...(when they anticipate the OS will be out of Beta), however...or get a Steam Machine now and just install Windows on it and use the Steam client in the meantime. You don't need to build a big, full, tall, power hungry thing like mine...which is hard on the electric bill. lol I'd love to be rid of mine to get a small form factor. Anyway, if you do build one, get AMD components. AMD Mantel is out, for one...and their "price to power performance" is fantastic. I built mine for 900.00, over a year ago.

ASUS Sabertooth 990FX (UEFI 8+2 phase board = good for overclocking, for the price)