Is 82°C ok for the nvidia GTX 750 ti?

queenroxa

Reputable
Aug 14, 2015
I don't really game super high tech games, but when playing Sims 3 whilst monitoring my GPU temperatures, it at some point reached 82°C. Is this safe for my GPU? I'm very new to this. My GPU fan hasn't increased above 61% either. Should I be worried? Sorry if this post is lacking, I'm really not very good with tech.

Just to update, It's usually 80°C and never has increased above 82°C.
If not gaming, it's usually around 40°C.

Solution
here you go, yes all these temps are safe, 7th series Nvidia GPUs can go up to 92c without a problem, of course the cooler the better, but it is okay to play with vsync enabled for a cooler and quieter experience or disable vsync to get max performance, your card will reach the 80c+ mark and be a little louder, both scenarios are okay. nothing would be damaged because of these temps.

If you are worried just contact Alienware to make sure that these temps are normal temps for that system or if your case cooling is not functioning optimally.

I don't know what kind of cooling they have implemented in that system so can not tell if these temps are standard for it or not, all i can say is that these temps are safe for the GPU.

Aofekiko

Commendable
Apr 1, 2016

What is the average temp while playing, temperatures can spike some times so its best to watch the average temp and not the max temp you get.
GPUs can survive even under 120 - 140°C even if not for a long period of time but if you reach 82°C i do recommend lowering the quality, even just a bit will be fine because it is recommended to keep your GPU under 80°C

MyNewRig

Honorable
May 7, 2013
82c on and by itself is not damaging to the GPU chip, but the reason it reaches 82c is worth investigating, the downside is that the card would throttle (down-clock) to keep temps in check which will lower its performance.