[SOLVED] Is a 650w psu good enough i have never made a pc before and i don't know what to use

Nov 5, 2020
I'm new to this and I don't know what psu i should get

my hardware is
GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 1660
CPU: AMD RYZEN 5 2600X 6-Core
Storage: 1x SSD 1x HDD
motherboard: ASUS TUF B450
And the PSU is: Montech Beta 650W

Is my hardware more or less than 650W

Solution

my hardware is

You do not want that power supply. It's an offbrand unknown quantity. Stick with a brand model that offers more than a 3 year warranty and can actually deliver close to its rated capacity on the +12 volt. This will work:
https://pcpartpicker.com/product/Fd...onze-certified-atx-power-supply-cp-9020121-na

my hardware is

You do not want that power supply. It's an offbrand unknown quantity. Stick with a brand model that offers more than a 3 year warranty and can actually deliver close to its rated capacity on the +12 volt. This will work:
https://pcpartpicker.com/product/Fd...onze-certified-atx-power-supply-cp-9020121-na

Reactions: jonnyguru
Solution

JadeHarley

Reputable
May 11, 2018
I'm assuming we're talking about the CX series. As a budget model there's really no better quality available at that price point. It represents a baseline for me and I try not to go under it.
Well yeah, but their price is kinda weird sometimes (or it's only in Russia), for us it's super expensive and it's better to look at the only japanese/high quality, or to the CM MWE or Xilence Performance, really boring market in 2020

my hardware is

650w is more than enough tbh.

Although I would go with a different power supply as that Montech is an offbrand PSU and if there is any part you DO NOT want to go cheap on, is the PSU. Could lead to killing the entire PC.