Question Is AMD Ryzen 7 better than Core i7, or is it the opposite?

krelidas_34

Honorable
Sep 23, 2018
My current Samsung Ativ isn't good for my college class (Game Production). Core i5 with 8GB of RAM and integrated graphics isn't enough for running Unity program. I am majoring in Computer Science, and I need a powerful computer. I did my search and found some gaming laptops that were affordable. Some had a Core i7 with 16GB of RAM, along with Nvidia GeForce 1050 graphic card. But I don't think it's enough. In South Korea, where I live as a foreigner, the laptops get expensive, and some Redditors told me to build a computer. I asked about components to many people in this forum, and got some good answers. But I didn't realize that my professor demanded a high-spec CPU. She said she wanted a Core i7, but I can't afford it. I need an AMD alternative. I think Ryzen 7 would be a good choice, but I heard it is slower than Core i7. But is it okay? I heard desktop CPUs are faster than laptop ones.

My current Samsung Ativ isn't good for my college class (Game Production). Core i5 with 8GB of RAM and integrated graphics isn't enough for running Unity program. I am majoring in Computer Science, and I need a powerful computer. I did my search and found some gaming laptops that were affordable. Some had a Core i7 with 16GB of RAM, along with Nvidia GeForce 1050 graphic card. But I don't think it's enough. In South Korea, where I live as a foreigner, the laptops get expensive, and some Redditors told me to build a computer. I asked about components to many people in this forum, and got some good answers. But I didn't realize that my professor demanded a high-spec CPU. She said she wanted a Core i7, but I can't afford it. I need an AMD alternative. I think Ryzen 7 would be a good choice, but I heard it is slower than Core i7. But is it okay? I heard desktop CPUs are faster than laptop ones.