[SOLVED] Is it safe to change turbo ratio on intel turbo boost?

rapahamune

Prominent
Jan 26, 2019
First of all, I am new to overclock, started recently and I read the very basics, but still a noob.
I know it is not a "classical" OC since I'm not changing the base frequency and vcore, but I was looking into my BIOS and saw the turbo ratio for intel turbo boost, it was set to:
active cores:
1 - 4,6
2 - 4,5
3 - 4,5
4 - 4,4
5 - 4,4
6 - 4,3
First of all I changed them all to 4,6, it worked, I got a stable system and all cores running on 4,6 underload. After that I pushed a little and set to 4,7, also stable and cool.
Is it considered overclocking? Is it safe? I use HWiNFO64 to monitor stuff, temps are fine but sometimes I see the voltage on some cores peaking at 1.47-1.50.

System:
Gigabyte Z370M Aorus gaming
I5-9600k
16 GB RAM 2400 Mhz
Gigabyte RTX 2070 windforce

Solution
That's because you have voltages set for auto, which always errs on the side of caution by adding more and more.

If you change any aspect of how the cpu functions, any deviation from its factory set regulations, that's overclocking. Even the factory overclocks, technically, since turbo is not Intel base speed.

But the largest factor of any overclock is balance. If you raise speeds, you may need to raise cooling ability to compensate. You may need to adjust current and/or power phase use to compensate. Most overclockers will universally agree that if you are going to manually raise the speeds past a certain limit, then you must also manually adjust the voltages to match.

For instance, my cpu has a base speed of 3.4GHz. It has a turbo...

Karadjgne

Titan
Ambassador
That's because you have voltages set for auto, which always errs on the side of caution by adding more and more.

If you change any aspect of how the cpu functions, any deviation from its factory set regulations, that's overclocking. Even the factory overclocks, technically, since turbo is not Intel base speed.