Is it worth it? Computer Newbie!

GTS458

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2009
Hello, new to THG!

Well my buddy at work said he can build me a fast gaming computer cheap, and he said it'll be extremely fast and he assures me it will play my favourite games (Crysis, TC Rainbow 6 Vegas, etc.) Here's what he listed for me. He saids I can buy it for $1250 CAD including the building of it. But no operating software.

Intel E1400 2ghz? - He said it'll be really fast because of its 4 cores or something? Sorry I am a noob to this things. :na:
2GB PC-5300 Kingston
Asus P5QL mainboard
Coolermaster Elite 330
Rosewill RX850 850w
Western Digit 160GB sata
LG H22NS DVD
XFX 7200GS - He said really fast for game
Creative X-FI Xtreme Audio 7.1

I have the typing keyboard and mouse, and a 19 inch screen. Right now I play on my cousins Dell XPS computer. Is this worth the price? I think he said I answer him by 2 days later, to see if i want it. Thank you everyone!

No, not good for games

The XFX 7200GS is crap, especially now. You don't want anything less than a Radeon 4770 or 9800GT if you want to play Crysis on high (depending on your monitor resolution). The other games aren't so demanding though. The Rosewill PSU is crap and I wouldn't use it even on a non gaming system. You may not need more than 2GB if you're on a budget, but 4GB is so cheap now there is no reason not to go for it. The E1400 is way too slow and that's a dual core CPU. Even for a budget system go with something like at least an Intel E5200 or an AMD 7750 and overclock it a little.

GTS458

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2009
So I should not buy this machine. So is he lied to me? Why he say theres 4 core and its fast? Should I get someone else to build it?

Yes and i suggest you learn how to build it yourself - its not as hard and the sense of satisfaction is awesome! For a budget gamer i would go

X2 7750BE
Biostar/Asrock 790GX
2 X 2 gb 1066
HD 4770

Your upgrade options are stellar:
CF with another HD 4770