[SOLVED] Is it worth the time for a tech learning Robocopy?

Rodion15

Distinguished
Sep 11, 2011
Before I continue potentially wasting my time learning how to use Robocopy, I would like to get some opinions. Is there a universal tool that does everything Robocopy and Macrium Reflect can do?

For a computer tech, such as a repair and networking technician, does Robocopy do anything, when compared with other tools like Macrium Reflect, that makes it worth learning? (besides being free…but it maybe irrational spending x hours learning when you can get a few bucks).

Last edited:
Solution
You left me intrigued...what do you mean Powershell? I see powershell as a better Command Prompt. How would Powershell improve my backups?
..I'm happy when I learn what to learn, I'm just learning based on instinct, I'd really like to have some list of "Best stuff a tech should learn without fail". Thank you guys.
Yes, powershell is CMD on steroids.
BUT....you can do a LOT with it. Basically, it is its own scripting language.

If all you're concerned about is "backups", then neither robocopy nor PS are the tools to use.
But as a "computer tech", you need to know much more than just had to instantiate a backup process.

punkncat

Champion
Ambassador
Robocopy has it's uses, particularly in archive or mirroring case use. IMO for a system that you may or may not have working, probably don't know certain aspects about the build and it's network infrastructure and "naming", I probably would not bother in lieu of a good cloning program and a dock.

USAFRet

Titan
Before I continue potentially wasting my time learning how to use Robocopy, I would like to get some opinions.

For a computer tech, such as a repair and networking technician, does Robocopy do anything, when compared with other tools like Macrium Reflect, that makes it worth learning? (besides being free…but it maybe irrational spending X hours learning when you can get a few bucks).
Why not?
Its a tool, like any other.