[SOLVED] Is it worth to keep i7-6700 for the next 5 years?

Status
Not open for further replies.

andromedaftw

Honorable
Jul 11, 2015
Hi, i currently have i7-6700, 8gb of ram, a h110m motherboard. Im planning to upgrade my motherboard to a B250F Strix (for m.2 slot and because i guess that my ports are starting to corrode), 16gb of ram, a new hard drive and a new case for 300$. Do you think its worth to upgrade that for the next 5 years? Or its more worth to upgrade to 5nm in the next 2 years. I want to spend wisely because im just a student and my budget is very limited thats why i'm predicting it for the next 5 years . Thanks

Solution
I would not change out a motherboard that is functioning just for a m.2 device.
M.2 is a size format and has nothing to do with performance.
Devices are sata or pcie. Pcie has faster sequential benchmark performance, but that is not as good as it sounds.
A sata ssd will be about as fast where it counts, namely small random I/O which is what windows does 90% of the time.
I would not use a hard drive today except for bulk sequential storage.

On a budget, keep the 6700 until it no longer does the job for you.
Who knows what your needs will be in 5 years.
Also, anything you buy today will be somewhat obsolete within a year of purchase.
Buy what you need when you need it.

Do not make decisions based on specs such as manufacturing...
If the ports are starting to corrode...I would replace the MB.

Any idea why the ports are corroding? That's not normal in my experience unless you have excessive moisture.

If the cost of the MB keep you from being able to upgrade the CPU.....so be it...you NEED a motherboard.

As far as you CPU being good for 5 years...it really depends on what GPU you are running and what games you play.

Reactions: boju

andromedaftw

Honorable
Jul 11, 2015
If the ports are starting to corrode...I would replace the MB.