[SOLVED] Is knowing Apple computer maintenance profitable?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nirrtix

Distinguished
Oct 4, 2012
I am studying for A+ certification and well PC techs are a dime a dozen. The other problem is that when someones PC breaks they just buy another for $300. However replacing an Apple costs much more. I am not sure how many Apple technicians there are vs PC but I do know that the A+ certification barely touches Apple. I do know Apple has a decent market for their computers as well.

Solution
If you want to be a tech, knowing both Apple is a great idea. Its harder to get certified but it never hurts to have the extra knowledge. Apple techs are much harder to find than PC so it will increase your job market. But depending on where you live that may or may not be a thing. I live in a college town and the market is huge, but an hour north and the Apple market is much much smaller.
If you want to be a tech, knowing both Apple is a great idea. Its harder to get certified but it never hurts to have the extra knowledge. Apple techs are much harder to find than PC so it will increase your job market. But depending on where you live that may or may not be a thing. I live in a college town and the market is huge, but an hour north and the Apple market is much much smaller.

Solution

mrmez

Splendid
Yep, it helps. But only a little.

http://appleinsider.com/articles/15/10/15/only-5-of-mac-users-at-ibm-need-help-desk-support-compared-to-40-of-pc-users

According to IBM who are busy switching many users from PC's to Mac's, the difference in tech support requirements is staggering.
While 40% of PC users will contact tech support, only 5% of Mac users will.
For a company, having to employ, train and supply gear for tech support can be very expensive, even without adding the cost of end user down time while the problem is fixed.

Given the low rates of support needed, training yourself for Mac's will be a very low priority.