[SOLVED] Is my desktop slower than a newer laptop? Advice on new pc and upgrades?

Oblivion2500

Reputable
Jan 1, 2017
I'm a game developer that is a 3d environment artist and game designer. I also do some programming as well. I mainly use my current desktop pc for that but I also use my pc for gaming, photo editing w/ lightroom/photoshop, video editing w/ blender or adobe premiere pro, and some music creation. I work a lot with Adobe CC, Unreal Engine, Blender, Maya, and ZBrush. So basically in one summary: a gaming workstation computer (it's also my only computer I have).
Here are my current specs:
  • CPU: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
  • CPU Cooler: Corsair H115i 104.65 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler
  • Motherboard: MSI Z270I Gaming Pro Carbon AC Mini ITX LGA1151
  • Memory: G.Skill V Series 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4-3200 CL16 Memory
  • Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 1070 8GB Gaming X
  • Storage #1 (OS & Apps): Samsung 850 EVO 500GB 2.5" SATA SSD
  • Storage #2 (Games): Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 2.5" SATA SSD
  • Storage #3 (Data/Files): Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5" 7200rpm HDD
  • Case: NZXT Manta Mini ITX Desktop Case (Black w/o window)
  • PSU: Corsair AX 860w 80+ Platinum Certified Modular ATX
  • Monitors (x2): Asus VS239-P 23" 1920x1080 IPS