Is my GPU bottle-necking my system?

CDAHL

Distinguished
May 9, 2011
Hello all,
So just as the title suggests, I am curious if my GPU is bottle-necking my system. Currently I am running a single MSI GTX 460 graphics card(not overclocked) with a Intel i7 2600 CPU, 4 gigs of RAM, 750W power supply, 500GB hard drive, and a ASUS Sabertooth p67 mother board. The reason I ask is because I am relatively new to the world of computers and this was my first build. So far it has been running great but I just want to be sure that I am getting every bit of potential out of my computer. I have even been considering buying a second GTX 460 and using the SLI capabilities of my computer. If I am bottle-necking or you see any other area of improvement in my system please feel free to tell me. I am welcoming any and all advice from you guys as I know you will point me in the right direction. Furthermore, if there are any GPUs or anything of the like that you would suggest I would greatly appreciate that as well. Also, if there is any additional information you guys want to know I'll do my best to help. Thanks in advance.

Colin

Solution
the gpu really is only used for games and if you want better performance in games, you can get more gpu power. Buying a second 460 would improve your performance a lot in games.

your system is very cpu heavy right now but it wouldn't matter if you are happy with your gaming performance.
the gpu really is only used for games and if you want better performance in games, you can get more gpu power. Buying a second 460 would improve your performance a lot in games.

your system is very cpu heavy right now but it wouldn't matter if you are happy with your gaming performance.

Solution

mgrove91

Distinguished
May 23, 2011