Question Is my GPU broken or is there a possible other problem in my pc?

Jul 2, 2019
Hi, So I'll try to keep it initially short.

I started playing The Witcher 3 for about 30hrs with no problem at all. Now every time I try to play it crashes back to desktop. I have been noticing that other games are crashing now as well but I am not certain if this is related to the Witcher. I have tried every possible fix findable on the internet and nothing worked, except turning my fan speed to 100%. However this does not explain why I 1: could run it on high settings with good fps and no crashes at first, without changing my fan speed 2: why I need to change the fan speed now and even then it is only stable on low settings. Is there a way to find out if my gpu isnt working correctly, maybe a program that detects errors or do I need to bring this to a shop? I tried a benchmark program and with that my gpu had no trouble, altough it was very short time. Seems with fan speed on 100% and playing the witcher on low 30fps my GPU gets about 50 degrees celsius. On medium/high it goes fast to about 62 before it crashed (tried twice now). I have tested 2 other games that worked fine before (World of Warhips and DOOM 2016) and they both have crashed on me twice now too. I have crash reports from the Witcher if needed, but they are huge and I dont understand this website yet...

My setup is:
Intel i7 4790K @ 4.00 GHz
16GB RAM Dual-channel DDR3 @ 800MHz
MB, MSI Z97-G45 Gaming
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 MSI
1 SSD 2 HDD

I hope someone could help me out, thanks!
(sorry, it wasn't short..)

EDIT: (A sentence) + Yeah Skyrim crashes almost instantly too now...

Last edited:
What's the make and model of your PSU ? Have you tried doing a FRESH format and re-install of the OS ? Also, do a CLEAN re-install of the GPU drivers as well, if need be. Any error message, when the crash occurs ?

Also, check the airflow inside your ATX cabinet. Are you using Windows 10 OS ?

Reactions: Joostdlm
Jul 2, 2019