[SOLVED] Is my Graphics Card dying already?

May 13, 2020
So this is my first time posting on any forums like this so I apologise in advance for any mistakes I make.

I built my first PC in January this year (i'll put specs at the bottom) and was having absolutely no issues despite the usual newbie stuff. However probably about a month ago I started experiencing artifacts appearing in games and random colours and shapes on screen. For example certain things in games such as doors or a desk would become deep black or maybe shiny silver, also on Discord if i would just move my cursor over my friends list, a lot of seemingly random triangles and shapes of all different colours and sizes would appear and disappear. I looked online and figured it was something to do with my GPU temperatures .
(I was getting around 40 degrees celsius idle and about 50-55 in game)

So i installed MSI Afterburner and adjusted my fan curve to be around 90% fan speed when it reached 30 degrees celsius. And all my problems just fizzled out of existence. Now i get around 25 degrees idle and 40 while playing games but sometimes if its a particularly hot day or whatever it might reach 46-48 and the colours will come back.

Should my Graphics card be doing this at 50 degrees? Is that too hot? Have I got another issue or is my Graphics card just not working properly?

Unfortunately I can't provide any images as I'm not at home at the moment.
Any advice is appreciated, thanks in advance.

Specs:

Mobo- MSI B450 tomahawk max
GPU- XFX rx 590 fatboy oc+
CPU- ryzen 2700
CPU cooler- be quiet pure rock slim
storage- 2tb seagate barracuda compute
- 480gb a400 kingston ssd
Ram- 16gb (2x8) Corsair vengeance lpx 3200 mhz
PSU- Corsair txm gold 550w semi-modular
case- corsair spec-06

As for airflow: I have two case fans (1 intake and 1 exhaust)

Solution