Is my gtx 970 temperature good or bad?

roudy-s

Reputable
Jan 21, 2017
Hello i have a msi gtx 970 4g gaming edition i bought it 2 years ago and it is a very good and powerfull graphic card my question is while i am playing call of duty ww2 and wolfenstein 2 the new colossus my gtx temperature goes up to 63-67° and sometimes to 70 but not more than 70° should i be worried or it is just fine to have this temperature under full load and high settings? And my gtx is at 33 to 40° on idle after about 1 hour i was installing the game it took 1 hour to install i checked my temperature the gtx was between 37 and 40° while idle for about 1 hour when i first boot my pc it was 27-30 and than it goes up. I have a cooler master cm 580 III mid tower with 2 fan in front and i have a cpu i5 750 wich is old and i am planing to upgrade it to an i7 and i have a thermaltake cpu fan( another question here my i5 is between 55 to 67° while playing on full load is that bad and on idle it is 33 to 35°) and i have an intel dp55wb motherboard and thank you very much.

Solution
GTX970 usually does not need thermal paste to be reapplied until certain age (GTX970 is not yet that old). Your GTX970s temp is ok. Leave it as it is. You can change the fan curve to start blowing 100% earlier using MSI Afterburner, if you want.

Proc (GPU too) temp differs depending on load, some games load it to 100% some do not.
Yeah like Paladin said, if temps are a concern, you can use Afterburner to create a custom fan cooling profile that will spin up the fans earlier/faster and get the temps down some. It will create more noise than you are used to however if that bothers you. But the temps themselves are fine, especially if you don't have a temp control set.

roudy-s

Reputable
Jan 21, 2017