Is my machine bottlenecked?

G

AMD Athlon II X2 235e @ 2.7GHZ
6GB DDR2 Ram
Nvidia Gt220 1GB DDR2
450W PSU
750GB ST375052 8AS SCSI Disk drive

Im trying to get Photoshop CS5 to run smoothly. It runs fine, its just that anything i draw takes a second to catch up to the mouse.

There is no bottlenecking here.. You either have a mouse issue (hope you are not using a trackball mouse) or a display issue (problem with your monitor and/or your video card).. Make sure you are running the latest drivers for your video card.. I've no experience with a SCSI drive to state if that could be a problem.. Meanwhile, are you experiencing any heat up issues.? That is to say, do you get high fan noise suddenly while you attempt to draw something.?

G

Nope, i have my own custom fans set at my own speed and the temperatures for cpu and video card stay pretty cool. Im using a Gear Head "Performance laser" wireless mouse. Its strange, when i get on gta iv, in the menus, the mouse is slow at tracking as well, but during gameplay its fine. (as well as left 4 dead) Im just trying to figure out whats going on with it.

Photoshop is using half of my ram so i doubt ram would be an issue

D

Deleted member 217926

Some cordless mice need to be close to the receivers or need pretty much line of sight even though they are not supposed to. Try another USB port closer to the mouse if you have one free. Does the mouse have software? Make sure it is updated if so.

G

Do you know the Response rate of your monitor, if not what is the monitors model?
In some monitors they can cause mouse lag and other lag, such as sluggishness when you are watching a movie. If you have another machine in the house pug it in to that and see if your getting lag as well.

G

Do you know the Response rate of your monitor, if not what is the monitors model?