Is my PSU good enough to run a Geforce GTX 580??

schaf85

Distinguished
Mar 15, 2011
I have this 700 watt PSU called a XION, model number is XON-700P12N. I am a big PSU noob so not sure how it all works.
On the side of my PSU it says....

+3.3V +5V +12V1 +12V2 -12V +5VSB
24A 32A 21A 22A 0.6A 2.0A

I got this PSU as "standard psu" when I built a PC using IBUYPOWER.It does look pretty cheap. I was also wondering if there's any danger using this PSU if running a GTX 580 with it? Currently I use it to run a GTX 560 and everything has been good for about a year.

Help is appreciated, thanks.

Gallarian

Distinguished
The minimum wattage recommended by EVGA for the GTX 580 is 600. So, in terms of watts your PSU is fine.. but!

A cheap PSU by an unknown brand is not a good idea, especially not when using it for an expensive high-end card like that.

There have been many tests on cheap PSU's that claim to deliver high wattage, but actually only produce half of it.

Heres a line from the conclusion of such a review on your PSU:

'This power supply is far from the best we have reviewed but then again it isn’t the worst either. It has lackluster performance, suspect build quality and heats up faster than a barbeque on steroids yet it also looks great, has a low price and is quite quiet. So how much is that worth? No more than a 2.5/5 rating.' - www.hardwarecanucks.com

In my opinion, I'd get a new PSU as well - like this for example: http://www.scan.co.uk/products/650w-psu-corsair-enthusiast-series-650txv2uk-85-eff-80-plus-bronze-sli-crossfire-eps-12v-quiet-fan-a

mace200200

Honorable