[SOLVED] Is the AKG K240 a good choice for gaming? AMP recommendation?

MxzsyXII

Reputable
Feb 6, 2017
Hello audiophiles, I am new to this sub. I am in need of a good pair of headphones to use for gaming. So far my research has lead me to studio headphones instead of typical 'gaming' headsets. I am on a budget which is why I have selected the AKG K240. I am not dead set on this yet but from reviews it looks good. Also apparently open back headphones are better than closed for more of spacial awareness for footsteps and such.

I read that to fully experience the true performance of the K240 an external AMP would be required but not necessary. I have no idea what to look for so if anyone could recommend a cheap one in the UK I would appreciate it. I searched headphone amp on amazon and was shown with either £30 portable ones, or ones worth hundreds. Idk what I'm suppose to use.

Is this headset a good choice for primarily gaming and some YouTube? You guys can also give other recommendations, preferably around or below £50.

Solution
I am a big fan of using normal headphones such as AKG. There are however some drawbacks. For chat you need to use a separate mic such as a Yeti. Secondly for surround sound. You can emulate surround sound using software like Razer Surround, but it's not built in. When you buy a gaming headset it'll come with surround emulation like Dolby Headphone or something similar. With regular headphones you have to setup the surround yourself or pay extra for software to pull it off as it's not incuded.

So it all comes down to if you want a headset exclusively for gaming or not. If so don't rule out good gaming headsets. If you also want to use the headphones for music, smartphone, movies, etc... then consider the regular headphones as...

gondo

Distinguished