Is the GTX 750 Ti just terrible for editing? (Vegas Pro & Premiere Pro)

jjboxall

Honorable
Apr 19, 2015
Hi. I've recently completed my first ever build which includes a GTX 750 Ti and an AMD X8350 Black Edition. I am a first year film student at university and I completed this build mainly for the purposes of flawlessly smooth editing in Vegas & Premiere, and I do run a gaming channel on YouTube as well.

Here's the problem. When I tested out Sony Vegas Pro 13, I was horrified to find out that my preview viewer still lags slightly (although a lot less than my i5 laptop with integrated graphics) while playing back even 2 track footage (gaming footage with face cam). Furthermore, when I go to render the 6 minute video I am expecting a GPU-Accelerated render of maybe around 2 or 3 minutes as I have seen with my friends, but instead I am getting around 15 minutes with the CPU taking an absolute battering, being at around 90-95% and getting too hot for my liking (although I do need to invest in another fan). The GPU, for preview AND rendering only hits about 12% usage at maximum. Surely this is not right? Just for your information I have enabled GPU-Acceleration in the software, the program recognises the graphics card, and the render setting I am using is basically the YouTube 1080p preset with very minor tweaks. On the render setting screen, it recognises my GPU and says 'CUDA available'.