Is the same internals on a desktop better the same internals on a laptop?

Daniel Ferri

Reputable
Dec 22, 2014
I'm debating whether to upgrade my desktop to a better desktop or a laptop. I want an Intel i7 processor 16GB of RAM 250GB SSD Nvidia Graphics/Intel Graphics
I am a musician/video producer and these things are very important to me. I was thinking about getting a laptop - hook it up to monitors so when I need to go out, I can take my work with me.
But I'm just wondering, if you take the same "specs" and put them in a computer and a laptop. Will they run exactly the same? Or do laptops have harder trouble keeping up since they're crammed in such a tiny space?

ranger133x

Honorable
Jan 9, 2014
I custom ordered a Toshiba laptop with less Memory and a normal HDD about 2 years ago for just over $1000. It is still working great today. I'm not sure how impressive this is, but it can run most games on higher end settings. It runs Skyrim on the highest settings fine.

If you do a laptop I would highly recommend Toshiba. I have owned 3 of their laptops and they all still work great. They offer similar (if not better) components as Dell, but for much better prices.

What is your budget?

If you play around on the Toshiba website, sometimes you can find a base laptop and customize to be better than some of the more expensive laptops, but for the same price.

My laptops base price was $700, I customized it and the total came to like $1180. It had WAY better components than some of their @1500-$2000 laptops.

gwapito

Reputable
Sep 18, 2014
No, same specs but not the same performance.