Is this 7970 broken?

zomg50

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2012
imag0109as.jpg

imag0108nl.jpg

I've been trying to plug this into the PCI slot but it just won't get in, had a look at the pins (or are they called chips? sorry, i'm a noob in computer) and noticed they look a bit .. broken? Couldnt find a good picture online to compare so I guess its best to ask here.

If it's broken, should I send it to the place I bought it from (online retailer) or back to the manufacturer? (bought this last week only)

If it's supposed to be like that, is there a place where I can see some clear pictures of how it's supposed to look like when installed correctly, and maybe a clearly video tutorial showing how?
- I can only slide half of the card into the PCI slot, enough for it to lock in, but the other half of the card is only half-way in.

Many thanks.

What mobo are you trying to use? mine came with a small clip thing that I had to slide allll the way to the back of it just to get the thing on there (I ended up breaking the clip on accident, no biggy its not necessary to have one :) )

zomg50

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2012

I'm using the ASUS P8Z68-V PRO Gen3. I've been trying to push it in for about 2 hours, then gave up and moved onto building the rest of my computer. I can manage to fit the "larger" section of the chips into the mobo, but the smaller part just won't make way no matter how much force I use on it (without breaking it, hopefully).

The metal part of the 7970, for the screws to connect with the case, lies just about right on top of my case's support. It just seems impossible to push the 7970 any further in than I have done, and it's roughly 40% the way into the slot.
FYI i'm using the Coolermaster HAF 932 Advanced casing.

Kari

Splendid

they aren't breaking away, but made that way.
look at the reviews in techpowerup (they have great photos, mostly...), all the cards are like that.
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/HD_7970/images/front.jpg