Is this a good time to invest in a gaming PC?

Jethead

Honorable
Mar 9, 2013
Hello, this is my first post here.

Disclaimer:
I'm a total noob, and not a native speaker.
Apologies for not using the template, it's a general question, I don't have a date or budget in mind yet.

The situation:
I have a 3,5 years old Dell Studio XPS 7100 (AMD Phenom II X6 1055T + Cooler Master HyperTX3 Evo, ATI Radeon HD 5870 + Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme 5870, Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio, 4x2GB 1333Ghz RAM, 1TB+2TB 5200 RPM HDD, mobo is Dell as far as I know). I can run all the current gen games on high settings, I was hoping for it to last until the next gen.
It's PSU started to make noise. I ordered a Corsair 650TX V2 and took the old one apart - lots of weird white stuff leaked all over it.
I installed the new PSU and noticed the PC is overheating now. So I opened it again to check if all fans are connected - they were.
When I plugged the power cable in, my new PSU spew a few sparks and the fuses blew in the flat. The power switch on the PSU was on 'off'.

The questions:
Is now a good time to buy a new PC? Should I try to get the old one repaired, knowing that the new generation of consoles is coming around Xmas?
If I decide to buy a new PC, would it be safe to reuse any parts of the old one?

Jethead

Honorable
Mar 9, 2013
It did the same thing in another socket. But I'll get an electrician to check the sockets, thanks for the tip!

pete123edgar

Honorable
Feb 8, 2013
Yeah its good to build a new pc now. For me, I am using a mid range card to last me until the next gen card comes by, but mid-range card such as the 7870 tahiti le is good to play max for most games at around $240. Build a pc around $700 and you can play most games a high esttings

DEVILVSANGEL00

Distinguished
May 21, 2008
id also suggest to start saving up your budget now and wait untill a month or so after haswell is relased and that way you know if its worth going haswell over ivy/sandy bridge,