[SOLVED] is this mobo any good?

Darkbreeze

Titan
Moderator
Yes, that motherboard would be perfectly acceptable for use with the 9100f and the RX 570. If you were to want to upgrade later to a higher end CPU, like a 9600k or higher model, then it would not be a good choice, but if you will be using a non-k i5 or any i3 that is compatible, then it is fine.

You will NEED to get different memory though, because your current platform uses DDR3 and the platform you want to change to requires DDR4. It also ONLY supports up to 2666mhz memory speed, so you will want to look for a 2666mhz DDR4 memory kit.
 
Reactions: epicplayah
Feb 14, 2020
16
2
15
0
im using i3 9100f and rx 570.

trust it for not cracking and giving me that frozen windows or whatever thats happening on this lga 775. my current mobo's chipset goes on fire when i use 100% cpu (q9550) and everything stops working. when that happens i see "sorry we ran into some problem" and i touch the heatsink but i wont feel my fingers for a while because it burns my skin and reaches my bones.

is that one legit? like is it something that works fine for gaming and all that stuff? will it perform cool? are they all the same or what?

its really affordable in my country and i like the look of that motherboard, sick of using this old machine and not being able to watch a simple 1080p video on youtube...

too many questions sorry, but i want to make sure that it just works well and cool in modern games.
 

Darkbreeze

Titan
Moderator
Yes, that motherboard would be perfectly acceptable for use with the 9100f and the RX 570. If you were to want to upgrade later to a higher end CPU, like a 9600k or higher model, then it would not be a good choice, but if you will be using a non-k i5 or any i3 that is compatible, then it is fine.

You will NEED to get different memory though, because your current platform uses DDR3 and the platform you want to change to requires DDR4. It also ONLY supports up to 2666mhz memory speed, so you will want to look for a 2666mhz DDR4 memory kit.
 
Reactions: epicplayah
Feb 14, 2020
16
2
15
0
Heck yeah. i wont be upgrading to anything else (as the cpu). and about memory, i will be buying two 8gbs of 2666mhz from gigabyte itself. just planning to sell this garbage pc that i have atm. thanks for helping me out.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Feb 14, 2020
16
2
15
0
sure thing. i have another question tho.

is there a big difference between 2400mhz and 2666mhz rams? i just checked the prices and 2666mhz is 20$ more expensive than 2400. at least here. is it worth it ?
 

Darkbreeze

Titan
Moderator
It IS worth it, but, it is also not going to offer you a tremendous boost in performance either. If the twenty bucks is REALLY problematic, then the 2400mhz will be ok. If you can actually afford to spare the extra twenty bucks, then it's probably worth doing.

What country are you in and where are you trying to buy the memory from?
 
Reactions: epicplayah
Feb 14, 2020
16
2
15
0
im not gonna be able to spend more 40$ dollars if its not gonna be much of a performance loss then.

im living in iran, you must know about the currency changes here. so even 1$ is 1$ nowadays...
i will be buying it from an official online shopping that is only available in here (digikala.com).

i made a mistake and bought this stock q9550 and lga 775 motherboard because i had 4gb ddr3 ram. i didnt wanna spend much and i thought q9550 is just good enough to be paired with a gtx 1050ti and give me at least 40 fps in games. but i was wrong. i didnt buy the gpu fortunately. i did a research and found out that i3 9100f and rx 570 would be a perfect match.

here are the products that i will be buying, please take a look.

https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/P310-D3-rev-10#kf (already seen but whatever)
https://www.asus.com/Graphics-Cards/EX-RX570-O4G/
http://www.geil.com.tw/product/?id=16

asus and gigabyte are legit but i dont know about geil at all, i saw comments that people say its a good brand and has some budget stuff so i have decided to buy those. i will buying those stuff in about 8 days, so help me out here. i will be glad.
 

Darkbreeze

Titan
Moderator
Ok, so two things here.

One, yes, I realize about Iran. We have a moderator from there as well, and hardware availability there, as with much of the Arab nations, is rather slim and rather expensive. So the extra money is probably NOT worth it for the performance you will get.

Two, do NOT buy two separate memory modules and expect them to work together. They might, but they just as well might not too. Quite often, and probably more so these days than in the past on older platforms, using mixed memory, even if they are the exact same part number, is a real crapshoot. It is a roll of the dice as to whether or not they will "play nice" together or not. Especially on lower end chipsets. You want to avoid any such problems, even if there is only a chance of a problem, by purchasing a memory kit that comes with TWO matched DIMMs. That way there is no question of them being compatible. I've seen too many people say "eh, I've used mixed memory time and time again, and never had any issues", and then come back and ask "why are these sticks not working together but they work fine by themselves".

I have written a whole section about this, in my memory guide, as follows:








The odd man out, (Or, mixed memory)


While memory modules that did not come together in a matched set that was tested by the manufacturer to be compatible, certainly CAN still work together, often it does not. Right up front I'll tell you that if you are trying to get sticks to work in the same machine together that were purchased separately, even if they are otherwise identical according to the kit or model number or if they would seem to have identical timings and voltage requirements, there is a very good chance that you simply will not be able to do that. There is also a pretty fair chance that you might be able to if you are willing to take your time, listen to and understand what you are being told and follow the steps necessary to determining if they will "play nice" or not.

The exception in most cases will be that if the memory from both sets are the same speed and timings and both kits are within the JEDEC specifications for the default speed on that platform, so for example, 2666mhz on the latest Intel Z390 platform, 2133mhz on Ryzen first and second Gen platforms, then they stand a much better chance of working together but if they are higher speed kits the chances begin to diminish from what they might be at the low speed and loose timings end of the scale.

A word of advice. If you just purchased this memory, and for whatever reason you bought two separate sticks of the same memory instead of buying them together in a matched set, see if you can return them for a refund or credit towards buying a similar or same set of matched sticks that come together in a kit. It is ALWAYS better to have matched modules because from brand to brand, or even within the same brand, in fact, even when the part numbers are IDENTICAL, there can be anything from simply slightly different memory chips that were sourced from different bins at the end or beginning of a production run to entirely different configurations altogether even though the model numbers seem to be the same. Some manufacturers even reuse model numbers when they discontinue a product. Point being, memory is only the same for sure when all sticks came out of the same blister pack or packaging and were sold as a tested kit.

In order to determine if differences in the memory, or a need for increased voltage when using more than one stick (Especially if you are running three or more sticks) are responsible for the problems you are having you will always want to begin your troubleshooting process by attempting to boot the machine with only a single stick of memory installed. Also, for practically every consumer motherboard that's been sold since at least as far back as about 2014, the A2 memory slot which is the second slot over from the CPU socket, is THE slot that is most commonly designated for the installation of a single memory module. Slots A2 and B2 are almost always the slots specified in the motherboard memory population rules for use with two modules. If you need to install a third module I have no opinion on which of the remaining slots to use for that, but typically since the A1 slot is right next to the CPU socket and often interferes with the CPU cooler or fan, I'd say the B1 slot was probably just as good.

Honestly, I don't ever recommend that you HAVE three modules installed anyhow. Using memory in pairs is almost always a better option, except on boards that support triple channel memory population, so that normal dual channel operation will occur. And that's another thing. When it comes to memory there are no "single channel" or "dual channel" memory modules. There are ONLY memory modules and the motherboard and CPU architecture will determine whether or not dual, triple or quad channel operation is possible based on the architecture and how many modules are in use. Occasionally though there are situations where it might make sense to run three modules and some boards CAN use three modules in a FLEX type mode where two of the modules will operate in dual channel while the third oddball module will run in single channel. I'd avoid oddball configurations though if possible because many motherboards will simply run ALL modules in single channel mode when an odd number of modules are installed.




If you think you will ever need 16GB of memory, then buy 16GB of memory from the start so you can get it all in a matched set that has been tested,
and eliminate a lot of problems right from the start.


 
Feb 14, 2020
16
2
15
0
good to hear that persians hang around as well (as moderator)

i read your post about single/dual channel, quite smooth and understandable. you just saved me, i would go for two of that ram by myself but you made my day.

i found this one, and i guess it will be fine as they're selling it as a dual channel ram. what do u think? https://www.gskill.com/product/165/184/1535625724/F4-2133C15D-16GVRRipjaws-VDDR4-2133MHz-CL15-15-15-35-1.20V16GB-(2x8GB)

please tell me those are fine and legit

also sorry if im asking too much questions. i just wanna make SURE that i will be able to use that system for a matter of time without being stressed and worried.
 

Darkbreeze

Titan
Moderator
Those are only 2133mhz, so a bit slower than the 2400mhz you were talking about earlier, but yes, those are high quality and good memory. G.Skill makes a good product. I don't buy any other brand for my own systems. Ripjaws and Trident Z are excellent choices.
 
Reactions: epicplayah

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS