Is this pc good for gaming/editing/3D modelling?

NovaTronMC

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2014
I am currently studying architecture, so I work with 3D modeling software such as SketchUp, Blender, Maya, Cinema 4D and Autodesk. But im also an enthusiast gamer that enjoys gaming in his free time, I enjoy playing games like Grand Theft Auto, Fortnite, Witcher 3, Destiny 2, Battlefield, Arma, and many games that require some graphics power, I usually game at 2k.
So I though on getting a pc with hardware that may last for atleast some years, these are the specs.
- Intel core i7 8700k
- Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5
-Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB DDR4
-Evga GeForce GTX1080 FTW

Is this pc good for my wants and needs? I have the budget for it, but is there any recommendation for me to change or additionally get? (Already have the case, PSU, Cooler, Hard drives). And yeah, i love RGB stuff.

The 2700X is also a great alternative. I would only advise the 8700k over the 2700X if a huge portion of your workload is on single-threaded tasks, otherwise, the gains single-thread wise from the 8700k would be put to shame over the massive multi-core potential the 2700X gets. That, of course, is only true if you don't get a defective 2700X like I did :) , but getting a bad chip is highly unlikely

NovaTronMC

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2014

What you are saying it's true, most work I do relies on a 8 core cpu, which the i7 lacks, but I currently work on a kind of old 4 core i7 which works decently good, so 6 core should do fine. The problem is that on my country, getting ryzen processors themselves is impossible. An i7 8700k costs me 350 dollars, while a ryzen can cost me up to 450 or more due to duties and taxes from international purchases.

Rogue Leader

It's a trap!

Well theres your answer then. While it is better for what you want, I wouldn't drop an extra hundo on it.

NovaTronMC

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2014