Is upgrading from an A8 7600 to an A10 7850k worth it if i have a GPU???

Jorge_acosta

Honorable
Jan 28, 2016
Hello, i have the following setup;

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-F2A68HM-S1
APU: A8 7600
GPU: Radeon R9 270 reference
Memory: 16GB RAM (2x 8GB HyperX Savage at 2133 Mhz)
Storage: Intel ssd dc s3700 400GB
600W PSU

Maybe i should start by saying that i am fairly new to this whole gaming pc/build your own pc stuff... so bare with me here.

So i am thinking to upgrade my CPU, since i am starting to do some video editing, nothing to demanding, mostly family vacations, and fishing trip videos... but i am thinking that my processing power is lacking since when i put a lot of effects or try to speed up clips it gets all choppy in preview. When checking with task manager it shows my cpu usage to go to 100% when doing this kind of stuff.

So, I know that with that motherboard i am stuck with APUS, so my question is, can i expect a tangible boost in performance just upgrading my APU to an A10 7850k?? I was thinking it might be worth it since it has 8 CPU cores (my current APU only has 4 cpu cores). But when i check the comparisson in CPUboss it only shows a 0.2 advantage in their score.

I know that i could get a lot more performance if i just change my motherboard to a AM3+ socket one, and get a FX8320 but that would almost double the cost of my upgrade compared to just upgrading the APU.

So, what do you think?? Tangible cpu performance boost by upgrading to A10 7850k???

Solution

delaro

Judicious
Ambassador

All APU's on FM2+ have no more than 4 CPU cores so ANY upgrade isn't going to be drastic.The Athlon X4 860K is the way to go on FM2+ if you don't need a integrated GPU as it is much cheaper over the A10 and performance the same. I would suggest you Overclock as well, I have taken these to 4.5ghz with a decent Air cooler fairly easy and that is nearly a 35% gain over a A8 7600.