Is Z390 motherboard good for NAS, and do options I chose (CPU, chassis) work? How do I pick power supply?

Dec 14, 2018
Hi,

I need to build fastest, meanest, smallest, 4-bay, hot swappable((3.5") NAS.

Below are components I found....
Does anyone know whether these are ok components, or whether I am missing something? (I have never built PC/NAS before)

I have two major purposes for my NAS:
1) 4K HD Video transcoding (Plex) to mobile devices and TV.
2) Running Oracle database with ~10GB of data and some, pretty complex queries. for reference my 27"Mac(2012) with Intel core i7 3.6Ghz, 4-cores, can take 10-20 mins to load data or execute queries.

Other, minor purposes low-impact items: Small website, small mail server, VPN, back up...etc.
-I don't do gaming, and NAS has only one user in household.
- NAS will run Linux OS.
- It will be set up as RAID 1, with two 3.5", the other 3,5" will be used for backup.
- NAS must run ALWAYS, because of website and mail server.

CPU I found:
- Intel® Core™ i3-8300T Processor, 3.20 GHz, with integrated Intel® UHD Graphics 630
- I Chose this one because Thermal Design Power was 35W, the lowest of all CPUs in 8th generation, and at acceptable price point (~$200). I gathered lower Watts means, less overheating and smaller case/chassis.

MoBo specs I looked for:
MUST HAVE:
- mini ITX form factor
- USB 3.1 port
- integrated wi-fi a/c
- LAN port
SHOULD HAVE:
- M.2 (I've heard this is often used to boot OS from)
- Bluetooth 5.0
- USB-C port
- HDMI

--> I've heard about ECC, but I am willing to use non-ECC boards and take the risk. Critical data is always backed up

I found following MOBOs (based on CPU and socket 1151):
- SUPERMICRO SuperO MBD-C9Z390-CG-IW-O
- ASRocke Z390M-ITX/ac
- Gigabyte Z390 I AORUS PRO WIFI

Bottom line: they're all mini ITX, Z390.

Is this motherboard (+CPU) the fastest and smallest?

If yes, I found this case from SUPERMICRO

Is that the SMALLEST case?
How do I pick the right power supply?