Question Issue with App access to Lorex LNR 300 DVR

Rogue Leader

It's a trap!
Moderator
So my house is currently wired up with 4 Lorex IP cameras going to my PoE switch. Elsewhere in the network I have a Lorex LNR 300 DVR which is configured to record from those cameras. I use the Lorex "netHD Stratus" app on both my Android Phone and my wife's iPhone to view the cameras remotely. This was all working perfectly for a few weeks.

Now suddenly I cannot connect to view the Cameras or access the DVR via the app from outside my network. I get the error "Create Tunnel Failed".

The ONLY thing that changed on my network is I disabled the RDP port I had open on my router (Dlink DSR-250)due to security concerns, however that port does not correspond to any port mentioned by Lorex as needed by the system.

Anyone ever dealt with this?
 
Sep 12, 2019
4
1
15
0
So my house is currently wired up with 4 Lorex IP cameras going to my PoE switch. Elsewhere in the network I have a Lorex LNR 300 DVR which is configured to record from those cameras. I use the Lorex "netHD Stratus" app on both my Android Phone and my wife's iPhone to view the cameras remotely. This was all working perfectly for a few weeks.

Now suddenly I cannot connect to view the Cameras or access the DVR via the app from outside my network. I get the error "Create Tunnel Failed".

The ONLY thing that changed on my network is I disabled the RDP port I had open on my router (Dlink DSR-250)due to security concerns, however that port does not correspond to any port mentioned by Lorex as needed by the system.

Anyone ever dealt with this?
I have a Lorex LNR380 that recently started exhibiting the exact same behavior, so I'm equally interested in a fix. I can't think of anything that's changed on my network, though Android updates have been plentiful. More importantly, however, I believe connectivity is relayed through some kind of Lorex cloud - making me wonder if they changed something...?
 

Rogue Leader

It's a trap!
Moderator
I have a Lorex LNR380 that recently started exhibiting the exact same behavior, so I'm equally interested in a fix. I can't think of anything that's changed on my network, though Android updates have been plentiful. More importantly, however, I believe connectivity is relayed through some kind of Lorex cloud - making me wonder if they changed something...?

Thats what I'm thinking as well. The only change made to my network was I closed my RDP port, which is for remote desktop and has nothing to do with this. For the heck of it I opened it again, and no change, so thats not what did it.

I have posted this here and other places and not found a solution yet.
 
Sep 12, 2019
4
1
15
0
Thats what I'm thinking as well. The only change made to my network was I closed my RDP port, which is for remote desktop and has nothing to do with this. For the heck of it I opened it again, and no change, so thats not what did it.

I have posted this here and other places and not found a solution yet.
I got DDNS working through Lorex. I can even connect to my system. What I can't do is see anything. Regardless of the browser (e.g., Chrome, IE), all I get is a message that says "Please click here to download and install the plug-in. Close the browser when installing the plug-in." I've done, repeatedly, to no avail in either browser - very frustrating, since this whole saga appears due to a change Lorex made. :mad:
 

Rogue Leader

It's a trap!
Moderator
I got DDNS working through Lorex. I can even connect to my system. What I can't do is see anything. Regardless of the browser (e.g., Chrome, IE), all I get is a message that says "Please click here to download and install the plug-in. Close the browser when installing the plug-in." I've done, repeatedly, to no avail in either browser - very frustrating, since this whole saga appears due to a change Lorex made. :mad:
Mine has been like that forever. Going to the device via the web browser always asks for a plugin, download it and its useless.

The App always worked though, right up until it decided to stop for basically no reason at all.
 
Reactions: NortonCO
Dec 3, 2019
3
3
15
0
Mine has been like that forever. Going to the device via the web browser always asks for a plugin, download it and its useless.

The App always worked though, right up until it decided to stop for basically no reason at all.
I just started having the same issue around the same time as you all. We have a 6 channel NVR Lorex system and while the app has always sucked, at least I could use it for remote viewing. But the last couple month we've tried everything to get the app functionality working but it just always says "Create tunnel failed" for every camera. So frustrating. I'm going to call Lorex and see what they say. Wish me luck in getting to a person.
 
Reactions: NortonCO

Rogue Leader

It's a trap!
Moderator
I just started having the same issue around the same time as you all. We have a 6 channel NVR Lorex system and while the app has always sucked, at least I could use it for remote viewing. But the last couple month we've tried everything to get the app functionality working but it just always says "Create tunnel failed" for every camera. So frustrating. I'm going to call Lorex and see what they say. Wish me luck in getting to a person.
Thanks for replying, good luck.

I've been trying everything still and have not found a solution. Based on how many of us are having this issue it probably isn't something user solv-able.
 
Reactions: NortonCO
Dec 3, 2019
3
3
15
0
Thanks for replying, good luck.

I've been trying everything still and have not found a solution. Based on how many of us are having this issue it probably isn't something user solv-able.
Been on the phone with Lorex support for 30 minutes so far. They had me install the "Lorex Cloud" app and we tried re-adding the cameras via QR code as well as IP address. Tried on iPad as well as Samsung Galaxy S10. Both devices fail to connect to the app. Rep is now trying to get a testing device in her office (iPad or Android phone) to replicate the issue. What a super fun way to spend my Monday!
 
Reactions: NortonCO

Rogue Leader

It's a trap!
Moderator
Been on the phone with Lorex support for 30 minutes so far. They had me install the "Lorex Cloud" app and we tried re-adding the cameras via QR code as well as IP address. Tried on iPad as well as Samsung Galaxy S10. Both devices fail to connect to the app. Rep is now trying to get a testing device in her office (iPad or Android phone) to replicate the issue. What a super fun way to spend my Monday!
You will be my hero if you find a solution!
 
Reactions: NortonCO
Sep 12, 2019
4
1
15
0
I just started having the same issue around the same time as you all. We have a 6 channel NVR Lorex system and while the app has always sucked, at least I could use it for remote viewing. But the last couple month we've tried everything to get the app functionality working but it just always says "Create tunnel failed" for every camera. So frustrating. I'm going to call Lorex and see what they say. Wish me luck in getting to a person.
Been on the phone with Lorex support for 30 minutes so far. They had me install the "Lorex Cloud" app and we tried re-adding the cameras via QR code as well as IP address. Tried on iPad as well as Samsung Galaxy S10. Both devices fail to connect to the app. Rep is now trying to get a testing device in her office (iPad or Android phone) to replicate the issue. What a super fun way to spend my Monday!
They couldn't figure out why it's not working. Escalating internally. Gave me a case # so I'll be checking in with them next week. I don't have high hopes.
I echo everything @Rogue Leader said.,.. Appreciate you sharing your experience. If it would help to add additional customers to the ticket, post the number you called and your ticket number so we can call in too. Either way, please keep us posted!
 
Reactions: Rogue Leader
Sep 12, 2019
4
1
15
0
Update:

Noticed the "netHD Stratus" app has been delisted from the Google Play Store. They really have got to be kidding me.
Coincidentally, I noted the same thing a few weeks ago. FWIW, I made my way through EVERY Lorex Android app - NONE would connect to my LNR380. (I spent a LOT of time trying various ports and settings.)

Thanks to Google, I eventually found and downloaded the Lorex netHD Stratus .APK file elsewhere. Drop me a PM with your email address if you're unable to locate it, and I'll send you the ~14MB file.
 

Rogue Leader

It's a trap!
Moderator
Coincidentally, I noted the same thing a few weeks ago. FWIW, I made my way through EVERY Lorex Android app - NONE would connect to my LNR380. (I spent a LOT of time trying various ports and settings.)

Thanks to Google, I eventually found and downloaded the Lorex netHD Stratus .APK file elsewhere. Drop me a PM with your email address if you're unable to locate it, and I'll send you the ~14MB file.
Thanks. I have the app and backed up the apk, however the fact it was delisted doesn't bode well for them fixing it.
 
Reactions: NortonCO
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
FurryVengence Consumer Electronics 1

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS

Latest posts