Jul 16, 2019
I'm a video editor and lately I had to work with many raw 4k files.
When I started working on these projects I had export times up to 40 minutes. I decided to do an upgrade I always wanted and got an 8 core CPU.
That was last week and since then I've been having many issues when using Adobe Premier.

At first, every time I would start rendering the software would just close. Without even a crash or error message. I noticed there was a spike on my GPU when this was happening so I turned off GPU acceleration on export.
And it worked. Was happy at first since my render time were now down to 15 minutes. I managed to render with GPU acceleration but only when I haven't apply any color grading. But I kept having issues.

When I was playing back video from my timeline I noticed my desktop went black for a while and it would fix only when I move an icon/folder on the desktop. This happened around 5 times the past week but didn't cause any issues. It's just weird.
Another issue I had, was that both of my screens went black. The first time I though it was a normal black screen and rebooted my pc. The second time I took out a cable from my GPU and plugged it back in and both screens came back on. This has happened three times and the last two times was able to fix it by just re-pluging in the monitors.

Last issue I'm having is that when I play back video sometimes I will get an "error retrieving frame" and it will spam that for every frame until I stop playback. Then Premiere will crash.

Things I have tried so far:
Recover windows.
Update all drivers.
Re-install GPU drivers.
Re-install Premier.

Nothing so far has helped and it's getting very frustrating especially trying to work around deadlines. I should also mention that I'm not having performance issues with anything else. Games run amazing and also I have no issues working and rendering with heavy projects on After Effects and Cinema 4D.