Shock34

Reputable
Nov 1, 2015
I have little experience with legacy hardware, so please excuse my confusion.

So long story short, I don't want to buy a new DVD drive. I'll never use it and it's not worth my investment. I do have an old, legacy Sony DVD ROM (circa 2006).
The older DVD drive utilises an IDE connector (of course), but luckily, I have an adaptor handy.

It's because I'd like to enjoy this copy of COD4: MW (original) that I can't get to work any other way and take a trip down memory lane.

It's a generic red adaptor with sata>IDE and IDE>sata, as well as that 4 pin power connector. I have it all hooked up, LED on and all, but I cannot for the life of me get the DVD drive to work with my Win10 PC.

Here's what I know:
-Device is shown as 'Unknown Device' in device manager, under disk drives.
-Most recent entry in events tab shows 'Device not migrated'
-I've tried uninstalling IDE controllers as well as the device in device manager, to no avail.
-Booting takes a long time with the device connected (I assume because the BIOS is trying to make sense of this device)
-In the BIOS, sata 4 (the port its connected to) is 'Not occupied', even when windows detects it as Unknown Device.
-Hot plug on the sata port is enabled.

Is there something I'm missing? I have the jumper pins in master.

The DVD drive seems to function fine. No out of the ordinary noises(for a 14 year old drive) and it takes in discs no problem.

I am unable to find anywhere online that says what jumper pins a DVD drive should be using if it is being connected via sata through an IDE-sata bridge.

Is it slave? CS?

I've provided a couple screenshots for anybody who understands this stuff.
Device manager
Events

Thank you so much for reading!

EDIT:
*Link to my device manual
*Link to the adaptor I am using

Last edited:
Solution
It's a generic red adaptor with sata>IDE and IDE>sata, as well as that 4 pin power connector.