Job Search

fatguybp

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2010
Hello,
I have been working in the same position for 8 years now, and it has nothing to do with my passion, computers. When I search for a computer job (vague I know) there are so many different titles and positions out there, its a bit overwhelming. So, I was wondering if you could help me, I love fixing computer, I love testing out new software and operating systems, I love ordering parts and building computers, I love setting up old hardware and new hardware, I love trying out old OSes and software, I like surfing the internet for answers, I love setting up 5 computers or more with different operating systems and linking them all together.
There has to be a job out there for me, I have been working with computers since I was 8 (32 now), starting on an old 8088 and commodore 64, and have never lost interest since. I have started my own computer repair business recently, but I lack the funds for advertising so it hasn't taken off. My main job now is Associate Scientist in an animal research facility. So is there any positions out there for a person like me, and if so, Where do I begin looking?

Thanks.
Charlie Duncan
Duncan Digital IT
http://duncandigitalit.com

ohiou_grad_06

Distinguished
I can say dude, honestly, the market seems tough. I was laid off recently from an IT job. I would almost say keep rolling with the business. As for advertising, check out like the free papers that get passed out. A lot of those you can do classifieds in for a few bucks a week. Or even a business card type ad. I would say though with the web site, dress it up more, and also, use bullet points, and change the language to sound more professional. For example, instead of saying "Tune up your computer", use a bullet point, and say Tune-ups. Or instead of saying Teach you how to use your computer, maybe say...."Personal Instruction available".