Keeping a bottlenecked card?

staypuft2066

Prominent
Aug 3, 2017
CPU: i5 2500
GPU: gtx 1050 2gb
Ram: 4x2gb 8gb
PSU: 280w
The title doesn't make much sense but it is too complicated for a title. Basically I plan on getting a gtx 1080 ti. Obviously the PSU needs upgrading ( planning on a 600w ) and the CPU will produce bottleneck. But I just wanted more information on how bottlenecks work. So I wouldn't get the full power of a gtx 1080 ti, but how hard would the bottleneck be? Because would it mean it would reduce the power of the gtx 1080 ti to something like a gtx 1060? Becuase I can't get the gtx 1080 ti, the i7700k and the new motherboard (so the processor would fit the socket) all at the same time. So I'm thinking, could I get the gtx 1080 ti, and get a performance boost. Then later get the motherboard and processor to get the full potential out of the card.

If I'm being stupid please point it out I'm kind of new to pc part picking.

Solution

First off, your PSU is completely inadequate to it The GTX 1080Ti alone requires 250W.

Secondly, bottlenecking is NOT harmful. There's NO POSSIBLE scenario where a too-weak CPU paired with a...

JalYt_Justin

Reputable
Jun 12, 2017
1080 Ti is VERY overkill for general gaming unless you plan on playing at 2k+ resolutions, in which case you'd need a new CPU to handle games at that resolution anyway.

For your CPU, a 1070 is a great pick because it will also work well with future upgrades. You'll bottleneck a 1070 a hell of a lot less than a 1080 Ti, and the 1070 is more suited towards 1080p gaming. Also allows you to put the saved money into a new processor, which I recommend the R5 1600.

A bottleneck simply means that one component is so overpowered for a system, that the other components can not process data from it fast enough to keep up. So you do not get full performance of that device.